top of page

Monday.

Monday morning was Tiri's prize giving assembly, where students (mostly Year 6) are commended for a wide variety of academic and extracurricular activities. I went into it thinking it was yet another long assembly (no offense, Tiri, lol) but was totally surprised.

The Kapa Haka group and Senior Pacifika (Pacific Islands dance group) groups performed, which was especially sentimental for the Year 6 participants, as this was their last time performing with Tirimoana.

There is a big tradition that every time a Pacific Island student wins a prize or award, a family member comes up and presents them with a lolly (candy) lei or money, accompanied by a kiss on the cheek or head, to show how proud they are of the child.

It was actually really emotional to watch! So many people here are so proud of their cultural and ethnic heritage and I think that is so special. It's just not the same in the parts of Wisconsin where I'm from.

Here are some families coming up during the awards to give a lei.

In addition to this, one of the Year 6 girls won 2 Maori awards--one for mastering of the language, a leadership award for Kapa Haka, and the overall merit for Haka. Her uncle stood up and did 2 different Maori haka taparahis, which I am told was to honor the school for giving her the awards. It was a really special moment when our Maori teacher, her son, and some other former Tiri students stood up and joined him. It brought a lot of people to tears.

In addition, Wiki won the Junior Pacifika award for her effort and participation this year! So proud of her! (Here is a close up of her and her lolly leis from her dance teachers).

After school, Jess and I headed to the mall and then got back to school in time for the PTA's barbeque for teachers! It was so delicious! They treat the teachers pretty well!

Then we had Christmas at Tiri, hosted by the PTA! There was a talent show, food trucks, Santa!!, and some other fun games for kids, all in the back field of the school. It was super fun and perfect 75 degree weather!

Wiki's Junior Pacifika group performed, and it was the first time I got to see them! One kid even brought me on stage for audience participation!

At the end, all the Tiri teachers got up and sang Jingle Bell Rock on the stage!

The grand finale was Baby Shark, which I obviously had to dance to with one of my little friends.

I also had to say goodbye to my extended host family as this was the last time I'd see them. All the cousins, Nana, aunties-- everyone was so kind to me and showed me such hospitality for the last 2 months!

bottom of page